Comprised of five buildings from different historical eras, the Inn is located along East Main and Cottrell Streets. Each of its buildings has a distinct history and personality, but all reflect the culture and character of coastal New England.
The building we refer to as “The Main Inn” houses fourteen guest rooms. It was built circa 1920 and was originally called “The Clinton Building” after hotelier J. Clinton Fitch.
For most of the building’s history, the second and third floors have offered rooms for rent, while the first floor has been the site of commercial businesses, including a Ford Model-T showroom, a gift shop, and a hardware store.
The property was converted to a hotel in 1969 by The Whaler’s Inn. Throughout updates we have been careful to retain many historical touches including original floors and tin ceilings in the 2nd and 3rd-floor halls and décor throughout that pays homage to the area’s nautical heritage.
The 1865 House was built as the residence of shipbuilder George W. Mallory in 1855. George was the son of renowned Mystic shipbuilder Charles Mallory, whose Charles Mallory and Sons Shipyard was located on the current site of The Mystic Seaport Museum of America and the Sea. After becoming quite successful in his own right, George Mallory sold this home in 1868 in favor of a larger, more elaborate one just a few blocks away. A miniature replica of The 1865 House can be viewed at The Mystic Seaport’s Scale Model Exhibit. Completely remodeled in 2018, this building brings together the storied history of Mystic and the nautical chic lifestyle of the CT shoreline.
The building currently known as The Hoxie House was built by shipmaster and trader Nathaniel Clift in 1818 as the U.S. Hotel. Lodging was offered on the second and third floors, and commercial business was conducted on the first.
After a fire destroyed the hotel in 1858, prominent businessman Benjamin F. Hoxie rebuilt the property, and in 1861, The Hoxie Hotel opened its doors to the public. Mr. Hoxie’s vision was to create a luxury hotel that would attract an upscale clientele and help transform Mystic into a summer resort destination.
Destroyed again by fire in 1975, but rebuilt in 2002 as part of The Whaler’s Inn, The Hoxie House has played host to a former president, celebrities, and diverse travelers captivated by its picturesque views of the Mystic River and Bascule Drawbridge. Most recently renovated in 2018, the Hoxie House is home to eight deluxe guest rooms and the hotel lobby.
Named after nearby fishing villages, The Stonington and Noank Houses were built in the early 1980s to accommodate an increasing number of visitors to Mystic. The addition of rooms with two Queen beds was popular with families visiting The Mystic Seaport and Aquarium, as well as with groups planning reunions and get-togethers.